MCAT® Test Dates & Score Releases 2022

You can register for the MCAT online via the Association of American Medical Colleges. The exam will be administered on 30 test dates in 2022. The standard start time is 8:00 a.m. each day unless otherwise noted below. There are three test dates in August/September with AM/PM testing, for which we have an asterisk under the test dates. Scores are released by 5:00 p.m.ET on the scheduled score release date. 

Be sure to register early so you can select your first-choice location, date, and time.

Registration for January - June 2022 MCAT test dates will open on October 13th and 14th. Registration for July - September 2022 MCAT test dates will open in February 2022.

2022 MCAT Test Dates and Score Release Dates

For MCAT registration, scheduling, or test location questions, contact the MCAT Program Office at:

Phone: 202-828-0690
aamc.org/mcat

2022 MCAT Test Date (standard start time is 8:00 a.m. unless otherwise noted below).

Score Release Date

Friday, January 14

Tuesday. February 15

Saturday, January 15

Tuesday, February 15

Thursday, January 20

Tuesday, February 22

Friday, January 21

Tuesday, February 22

Saturday, March 12

Tuesday, April 12

Friday, March 25

Tuesday, April 26

Friday, April 8

Tuesday, May 10

Saturday, April 9

Tuesday, May 10

Friday, April 29

Tuesday, May 31

Saturday, April 30

Tuesday, May 31

Friday, May 13

Tuesday, June 14

Saturday, May 14

Tuesday, June 14

Thursday, May 19

Tuesday, June 21

Friday, May 27

Tuesday, June 28

Saturday, June 4

Wednesday, July 6

Friday, June 17

Tuesday, July 19

Saturday, June 18

Tuesday, July 19

Friday, June 24

Tuesday, July 26

Saturday, June 25

Tuesday, July 26

Monday, June 30

Monday, August 1

Saturday, July 16

Tuesday, August 16

Friday, July 29

Tuesday, August 30

Friday, August 5

Wednesday, September 7

Saturday, August 20

Tuesday, September 20

Friday, August 26*

Saturday, September 27

Saturday, August 27

Tuesday, September 27

Thursday, September 1

Tuesday, October 4

Friday, September 2*

Tuesday, October 4

Friday, September 9*

Tuesday, October 11

Saturday, September 10

Tuesday, October 11

* There will be two testing sessions offered on August 26, September 2, and September 9. Exam start times will be at 7:30 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. each day.

STAY ON TOP OF TEST DATE CHANGES

When possible, we encourage you to reschedule or cancel an exam as soon as you know you do not want to test. Rescheduling and cancellation fees will resume for the 2022 testing year. Please review the rescheduling and cancellation fee deadlines before scheduling your exam. Since re-opening, additional safety precautions are being taken to ensure students' safety.

Past 2021 MCAT Test Dates and Score Release Dates

For MCAT registration, scheduling, or test location questions, contact the MCAT Program Office at:

Phone: 202-828-0690
aamc.org/mcat

2021 MCAT Test Date (exam start times: 7:30 AM & 3:30 PM)

Score Release Date

Friday, June 4, 2021

Wednesday, July 7, 2021

Friday, June 18, 2021

Tuesday, July 20, 2021

Saturday, June 19, 2021

Tuesday, July 20, 2021

Saturday, June 26, 2021

Tuesday, July 27, 2021

Wednesday, June 30, 2021

Tuesday, August 3, 2021

Saturday, July 17, 2021

Tuesday, August 17, 2021

Thursday, July 22, 2021

Tuesday, August 24, 2021

Friday, July 30, 2021

Tuesday, August 31, 2021

Saturday, August 7, 2021

Wednesday, September 8, 2021

Friday, August 13, 2021

Tuesday, September 14, 2021

Saturday, August 21, 2021

Tuesday, September 21, 2021

Thursday, August 26, 2021

Tuesday, September 28, 2021

Friday, August 27, 2021

Tuesday, September 28, 2021

Thursday, September 2, 2021

Tuesday, October 5, 2021

Friday, September 3, 2021

Tuesday, October 5, 2021

Friday, September 10, 2021

Tuesday, October 12, 2021

Saturday, September 11, 2021

Tuesday, October 12, 2021

A Note on Early MCAT Registration—and What You Need to Do to Register

With so many MCAT test dates coming up, you may be tempted to put MCAT registration on the back burner, but don’t fall into that trap. Lots of longer-term decisions—like when to schedule your test prep—depend on your MCAT test date. So taking the time now to determine your test date and register for the MCAT can put you ahead of the game and help you develop a strong study plan.

In addition to exact instructions on how to register for the MCAT, the AAMC also offers some tips to help you make sure MCAT registration goes off without a hitch:

  • Know when registration opens for your desired test dates.
  • Determine your top three testing locations in advance.
  • Have your government-issued ID available at the time of MCAT registration, make sure it is valid, and use the same one as your ID on MCAT Test Day.

When to take the MCAT

Selecting the best date to take the MCAT is an important decision. You will want to make sure you give yourself adequate time to prepare for the exam, yet select a date that gives you the best advantage in the admissions cycle. Ideally, you will want to budget between 300 and 350 hours in total for your MCAT preparation, this includes your content review, lots of question practice, and of course time to take and review full-length exams. Depending on how much time you have to study each week, this will mean spending 3 to 5 months studying for the MCAT. If your class load or workload allows, testing in January is a good option, as you can complete the MCAT, and then shift focus to the other aspects of the medical school admissions application. But this will mean starting your preparation in the fall, and studying through the winter holidays. If you want to spread your preparation out, then the spring test dates of March, April, and May are a good choice. These test dates still allow you to have your MCAT complete before submitting your primary application in June. However, it is perfectly acceptable to test in June and throughout the summer. Just remember, you will be balancing not only your MCAT preparation, but also your applications, so you will want to budget adequate time to do so. The most important thing to consider is that you want to take the MCAT when you will be the most prepared, do not rush into a test date just to get the test out of the way. Build a solid plan, and stick to it. Kaplan can help you map out your schedule for studying for the MCAT. 

How to register for the MCAT

Registration for the MCAT is available through aamc.org. Registration for the January through June test dates usually opens in October, with the summer test dates opening in February. Seats fill up quickly for the MCAT, so register early. But be sure to map out your study plan well in advance, so you can be ready for test day. When you register, you will not only need to select your date, but also the testing location. In some areas, these seats are limited, so early registration is very important. Also, the later you register, the higher the fees, as the AAMC has a tiered registration fee schedule that is dependent on how far out from the test date you are registering for.

Can you change your MCAT test date?

While the AAMC does allow you to change your test date, you will have to pay a rescheduling fee. But plans sometimes have to change, and you do have the option to switch to a new test date. The AAMC site has very specific instructions on how to go about changing your test date. From a preparation perspective, it’s a good idea to have a test date in mind, and to work towards that goal. Building a solid MCAT study plan is the first step in selecting the best test date for yourself, so you can avoid having to change your test date.

When to start preparing for the MCAT

Preparing for the MCAT can take anywhere from 3 to 5 months (though you could do it in a shorter amount of time if you study every day). Generally speaking you will want to make sure you have completed your prerequisite coursework:

1 year of General Chemistry
1 year of Organic Chemistry (everyone’s favorite:))
1 year of Physics
1 year of General Biology
A semester of upper division Biochemistry
Coursework in Psychology and Sociology

And while we recommend between 300 and 350 hours of MCAT preparation, in many ways, you started preparing for the MCAT as soon as you began your premedical coursework. Some students like to get a jump start (and work at a more manageable pace) in reviewing the content that is tested on the exam, but you also don’t want to start too early to avoid burnout. If you are planning to begin medical school immediately following completion of your undergraduate degree, then you will need to start studying for the MCAT in your junior year, because you will be taking the MCAT by the end of spring in your junior year and starting the application process over the summer before your senior year. Of course, everyone has different timelines, but your MCAT preparation should begin approximately 18 months before the date you plan on beginning medical school. 

How to prepare for the MCAT

Kaplan has a wide range of options for MCAT preparation from books that will review all of the content, to study packs for getting practice with questions and full-length exams, to our comprehensive course and tutoring options. But keep in mind that the MCAT rewards you for knowing content and being able to apply it to the passages and questions it presents. Therefore, it is imperative to get a solid review of the tested content, but also to follow that up with acquiring the critical reasoning skills and practice of the application of that content, and the ability to execute and demonstrate that mastery in the timed and marathon conditions of the MCAT.

Ready to get started?

Let our expert teachers be your guide with a prep course that fits your schedule. No matter what stage of MCAT prep you’re in, Kaplan can help raise your score.